Be sure to experience all of the historic treasures of Coweta County! We have history, museums, gardens, and more! Begin your trip… at the Coweta County Convention and Visitors Bureau for a wealth of information and brochures to help you explore all that Coweta County has to offer. The Visitors Center is located in downtown Newnan in the 1904 Historic Courthouse. There’s a Gift Shop in the Visitor’s Center featuring local items…as well as maps of Coweta County ($1.00 each). Highways 29, 27, 16, 34 or 70 bring you into Coweta County where you can explore towns and cities.
African-American Alliance Museum and Research Center
92 Farmer Street, Newnan
The first Black Museum of Coweta County provides a repository for African-American artifacts and records, and serves as a genealogy workroom for African-American research. Adjacent to the Farmer Street Cemetery which may be the largest slave cemetery in the South.
The Buggy Museum—Main Street, Senoia, GA
The treasures this museum holds include antique buggies and cars, Coca-Cola memorabilia, tools, machinery, player pianos, and other curiosities. Open April thru October every 3rd weekend of the month.
We have great bike routes in Coweta County! Cyclists can bike throughout the county on quiet country roads disturbed only by the occasional vehicle. For example, a ride out Smokey Road, just south of Newnan, takes you past acres of rolling pasture and horse farms, wooded stretches filled with birdsong, and fields dotted with wildflowers. The Coweta routes are oriented toward average recreational riders. Characterized by rolling hills, the routes generally follow the County’s lightly traveled network of rural and minor roads. Each route intersects with at least one of the three state-sponsored routes that cross the County. Motor vehicle traffic conditions in the County vary from heavy to light. To ensure your safety, please obey all traffic laws.
Chattahoochee Bend State Park
Newnan native and country music recording artist Alan Jackson should be pleased that his signature river, the Chattahoochee, is now the site of a 2,910-acre state park–the largest on the Chattahoochee River.
Located in the Flat Rock area in Coweta’s northwest corner, the park property contains seven miles of river frontage. The Department of Natural Resources named the development Chattahoochee Bend State Park and the state budget that passed in 2006 included $7 million earmarked for the project.
Park visitors have many activities to choose from, including boating, walking, biking, hiking, off-road bicycling, managed hunting, horseback riding, fishing and wildlife observation. Appropriately, part of the park is on land once owned by Chief William McIntosh, the half Creek Indian who was leader of the “Cowetas,” the namesake tribe for Coweta County. The Park officially opened on July 1, 2011. For more information, visit www.gastateparks.org/ChattahoocheeBend .
Chattahoochee Flint Heritage Highway
Take a drive along Highway 70 on the Chattahoochee Flint Heritage Highway. Experience the heritage of this scenic 155-mile trail through its collection of architecture, scenic landscapes, quaint communities, historic landmarks and special events. In these rolling foothills you’ll step to a quieter pace and find the lure that enchanted renowned authors and a U.S. President.
Take advantage of great fishing. The boat/canoe/kayak entrance is located on Hwy 16/27 West. The river borders the west side of our county. You can fish this area year-round for its green sunfish, carp, long nose gar, channel catfish, white bass, large-mouth bass, crappie, or striped bass. A Georgia fishing license is required.
Coweta County 1904 Historic Courthouse
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the 1904 Classic Revival Courthouse anchors the town square. Its dome rises 100 feet above street level, and a four-face clock in the tower chimes the hour. The dome is covered with copper to match the cornice, pediments and railings. The Coweta County Visitors Center is now located in the 1904 Historic Courthouse (enter on the east side of the square).
3218 Roscoe Road/Hwy 70 Roscoe
This stunning, 25-acre floral garden was salvaged from kudzu and wisteria only a few short years ago. Five descending terraces feature rock walls, slate patios, waterfalls, goldfish ponds, hanging gardens and a one-acre granite outcrop know as Little Stone Mountain.
Erskine Caldwell Museum
“The Little Manse”
Moreland Square – Moreland, GA
Author Erskine Caldwell, one of the best-selling writers of the early 20th century and a compatriot of Faulkner, Steinbeck, Fitzgerald and Salinger, was born in Moreland and carried this earliest sense of place into his literature. The museum includes books, movie art, U.S. and foreign versions of Caldwell’s work, and a video presentation.
Historic Courthouse Scenic Driving Tour
Drive Highway 27 for a Historic Courthouse Tour which covers 21 courthouses as distinctive as each community. Standing with dignity and strength, these courthouses provide an anchor for community roots and growth.
Lewis Grizzard Museum
Hwy. 29 South, Moreland, GA
Beloved Southern humorist Lewis Grizzard, sometimes described as the poor man’s Faulkner, is memorialized in the town where he was raised. Memorabilia on exhibit in the museum includes his family photos and mementos, manuscripts, and the typewriter on which he built his career as a syndicated newspaper columnist and author. Please call for hours
Male Academy Museum
30 College Street, Newnan
Period clothing, treasured furniture, Indian artifacts, Civil War artifacts, including guns, swords, bayonets as well as early medical instruments, maps, photos and histories are just some of the exhibits in this charming museum housed in a former boys’ private school dating from 1840.
Oak Grove Plantation—B&B and Garden
4537 North Highway 29, Newnan
The Plantation is on the National Register of Historic Places. Circa 1835 – there are four themed gardens over 20 acres; the herb garden, pool garden, patience garden, and vegetable garden.
Oak Hill Cemetery
Highway 34 (Bullsboro Drive)
The final resting place of soldiers who did not survive the Civil War. During 1863 and 1864, 268 Confederate soldiers were buried here and a section of the Cemetery honors these soldiers. Due to the efficiency of the local hospitals, only two men are unknown. Every state in the Confederacy is represented in these burials. Also here are graves of Revolutionary War soldiers and the two Governors Ellis Arnall and William Atkinson
Powers Family Plantation
Highway 34 (10 miles west of Newnan)
The site of the Powers Festival is on the beautiful grounds of the Powers Family Plantation. The festival is one of “The Top Twenty Events” for the month of September; 250 talented artists and craftsmen gather each Labor Day Weekend to display their works.
Raleigh Studios of Atlanta
600 Chestlehurst Rd. – Senoia, GA 30276
Raleigh Studios of Atlanta chose Senoia because of its beautiful homes and scenery. Movies such as “Fried Green Tomatoes,” “The War,” and “Andersonville” have been filmed at Raleigh Studios.
New Senoia Raceway
171 Brown Road
Senoia (off Highway 16 East)
Visit the fastest 3/8 mile high-banked dirt oval in Georgia.
Self-guided, driving/walking tour brochures are available for the City of Newnan and Senoia at Coweta’s Visitors Center in the historic courthouse in downtown Newnan.
Battle of Brown’s Mill
Courthouse in Newnan
On July 27, 1864, Brig. Gen. E.M. McCook with 3,600 Federal cavalry began a raid to destroy railroads south of Atlanta and release 32,000 Federal prisoners at Andersonville. Three miles south of Newnan, on July 30th, Maj. Gen. Joseph Wheeler with 1,400 Confederate cavalry caught and routed the Federals, captured about 2,000 men, several ambulances, a full battery and released 500 Confederate prisoners. Here General Wheeler whipped the `pick` of the Federal cavalry and saved Newnan from capture and possible destruction.
Birthplace of a Confederate Hero
Georgia 34 at Thomas Overby Drive, east of Georgia 154 junction
William Thomas Overby was born on this site in the 1840’s. He enlisted May 31, 1861, in Co. A, 7th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry, C.S.A. Later served with the 43rd Battalion, Virginia Cavalry, Mosby’s Rangers and participated in many raids that harassed the enemy.
On Friday, Sept. 23, 1864, Overby and five other Rangers were Captured at Front Royal, Va. Overby was offered his freedom if he would reveal the hiding place of Mosby’s Rangers. This he refused to do, so he was hanged without a trial. He “lay down his life for his friends”.
East edge of Oak Hill Cemetery, Bullsboro Rd (Ga 34), Newnan
Here are buried 268 Confederate soldiers, most of whom died of wounds or disease in the several Confederate hospitals located in Newnan. Some were killed in the battle fought south of here, July 30, 1864. Due to the efficiency of the local hospitals only two are “Unknown.” Most of these men were veterans of many hard fought battles. Every State in the Confederacy is represented in these burials. Also, buried here are two Revolutionary War soldiers, and one from the First World War.
In Newnan between 1862 and 1865 were seven Confederate hospitals — Bragg, Buckner, `College Temple,` `Coweta House,` Foard, Gamble and Pinson`s Springs. More than 10,000 Confederate sick and wounded and about 200 Federal soldiers wounded in the Battle at Brown`s Mill were cared for in these hospitals and in private homes. The hospitals were directed and supervised by Samuel H. Stout, Army Medical Director Department of Tennessee. Loyal men and women of the county rendered valuable aid.
Gravesite of Lt.(jg) Thomas E. Zellars – Namesake
Grantville City Cemetery
Grantville native Thomas E. Zellars (1898-1924) graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1920 and reported for duty aboard the USS Mississippi. As turret commander he rose to the rank of lieutenant. In 1924, an explosion and fire engulfed his turret. Zellars and 47 others were killed but not before he opened a flood valve on a burning powder train – an act that saved the ship and its crew. In 1944, Naval destroyer USS Zellars DD 777 was launched in Zellars’ honor. It went on to serve in both WW II and the Korean War receiving five battle stars. The ship was decommissioned in 1971. Erected by The Georgia Historical Society and the City of Grantville. Located at the Grantville City Cemetery.